User Preferences


MerusCase provides an array of customizable options, allowing users to tailor their experience to their own practice management needs. Most of these options can be found in the User Preferences section. Navigate to the User Preferences panel via Tools & Settings > My Preferences.

Tools & Settings

From here, you will be presented with the option to customize the following things:

Remember to click Save once you have finished making any changes.

Overall Appearance

Case Details

Envelope Printing

Here, you can choose whether or not to include a Return Address when printing a mailing label. The Return Address will match that of the firm branch office assigned to the case for which you are printing an envelope. Only administrators can change letterhead and mailing addresses for firm branches.

Microsoft Word Templates

Billing & Time Tracking

One of MerusCase’s premiere features is the instant tracking of your billable time while you’re working in MerusCase. A courtesy time tracker will appear to log your hours each time you compose an email, create a new task, or log an activity associated with a case. If you want to disable the time tracker, you can do so using the options in the dropdown menu. Additionally, you can designate the default user for whom the time tracker will log billable time. As an administrative assistant, you can also check a box that will allow you to log hours for other users, like the attorneys assigned to a specific case.

Dashboard

The first thing users see when they login to MerusCase is the Dashboard, which displays all of your new messages, upcoming events, tasks and stale case notifications. By altering the preferences in this section, you can customize exactly which information your dashboard will display.

External Notifications & Email Messages

Note

All deleted messages that have been linked to a case will be eternally stored in the Case Activity tab.

Keyboard Shortcuts

MerusCase allows you to designate three Function keys as shortcuts to automatically input information, such as the current date or current date and time into blank fields.

Inline Assistance

Synchronization Options

This section allows you to set your preferences for syncing your contacts and/or calendar between MerusCase and your phone or tablet.

Simply click on Calendar Sync or Contact Sync, as appropriate, to be taken to the corresponding section in Third-Party Apps. Note that if you are an Administrator, you will be able to edit anyone’s sync settings; if not, you can only edit your own.

Contact Sync (CardDAV)

You will see the User List open in the right-panel when selecting the Contact Sync (CardDAV) option from the main table. This will display a list of all users currently employing CardDAV to sync contacts between your firm’s MerusCase and their device. Rows are per-user per-device, meaning that one person syncing both their phone and tablet will have two separate rows (phone, tablet).

Click on the Control Column (three little dots) to the left of a row to access the options. Clicking Disconnect will delete this row, but it will not prevent them from re-syncing.

On the other hand, clicking Contact Sync Preferences will take you to the options of which people types to sync as well as information about what device they’re syncing to, when the account was created, and when it was last synchronized. Click Edit to open a checkbox grid of all people types in your firm to make any desired edits on which ones are to be synced, then click Save when you’re done or Cancel to undo your changes.

Also, note the links above the user list to our documentation on syncing contacts on an Apple device as well as syncing contacts on an Android device.

Calendar Sync (CalDAV)

You will see the User List open in the right-panel when selecting the Calendar Sync (CalDAV) option from the main table. This will display a list of all users currently employing CalDAV to sync calendars between your firm’s MerusCase and their device. Rows are per-user per-device, meaning that one person syncing both their phone and tablet will have two separate rows (phone, tablet).

Click on the Control Column) (three little dots) to the left of a row to access the options. Clicking Disconnect will delete this row, but it will not prevent them from re-syncing.

On the other hand, clicking Calendar Sync Preferences will take you to the options of the time range for sync as well as information about what device they’re syncing to, when the account was created, when it was last synchronized, and how many events have been synchronized in total. Click Edit to change the values for Include Events From (i.e. how long ago to start syncing from) and Through (i.e. til what date to sync), then click Save when you’re done or Cancel to undo your changes.

Also, note the links above the user list to our documentation on syncing calendars on an Apple device as well as syncing calendars on an Android device.

Custom Pre-loaded Filters

If you find yourself constantly searching for the same types of cases, contacts or other categories, an easy way to speed up the process of sifting through data is by using our custom pre-loaded filters. Here, you can set the default category for filtering information in certain lists, including bills, casefiles, books, companies, contacts, calendar events and more. You can also make those lists automatically appear filtered by specific text that matches the category you choose. For instance, you could set your preferences so that every time you open your list of cases, it automatically displays only open cases.